The American Concrete Institute has announced the winners of their Pervious Concrete Student Competition. Awards were handed out at the Concrete Convention and Exposition in Denver, Col. First, second, and third prize winners were selected in two categories: cylinder performance and cementitious efficiency. Respectively, winners in were awarded a cash prize of $750, $500, and $250. 

Entries were challenged to, "apply sustainability concepts and to use their knowledge of concrete mixture design by producing pervious concrete that balanced permeability and splitting tensile strength” and develop a mixture design that maintained “overall performance of the mixture with the lowest amount of cementitious material.” 

Congratulations to all the winners!

Cylinder Performance

1st Place: Ryerson University: Marzia A.C. Fada, Keikhosrow Tahmureszadeh
Faculty Advisor – Dr. Medhat Shehata

2nd Place: FES Aragon Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico: Balderas Rodríguez Miguel Ángel, Badillo Díaz, Daniel Jocsan, Sánchez Ochoa Javier
Faculty Advisor – Jose Paulo Mejorada Mota

3rd Place: Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana - Unidad Azcapotzalco: Leiding Guadalupe García Gutiérrez, Juan Carlos Trejo Juárez, Luis Angel Quirino Flores, Abel Toledo Candia
Faculty Advisor – Dr. Francisco González Díaz

Cementitious Efficiency

1st Place: University of Puerto Rico – Mayagüez: Silvia T. Esteves, Wilfredo X. Guilloty Rivera, Ninoshka Y Crespo Roman, Cristian O. Soto Torres, Maribel A. Turner Ríos
Faculty Advisor – Arsenio Cáceres

2nd Place: University of Puerto Rico – Mayagüez: Andrés Matos Ortiz, Karimar Rodríguez Serrano, Nahima Z. Ortiz Ayala, Gabriel A. Díaz Ríos, Yasser E. Ortiz Rodríguez
Faculty Advisor – Arsenio Cáceres

3rd Place: Valparaiso University: Atolo Tuinukuafe, Trent Schreiber, Benjamin Oelschlaeger, Edward Breitzke
Faculty Advisor – Jacob Henschen

To learn more about the competition, click here